Winning Fantasy Baseball 2013 Head to Head Points

The 2013 fantasy baseball season is in the books.  There were sleepers who excelled, sleepers who kept on sleeping, breakouts that broke out and breakouts that just broke.  This post is going to discuss strategies and other aspects of a fantasy season that went well for my H2H points league.

Strategy going in:  With rosters locking weekly, this eliminates streaming pitchers.  I wanted to maximize starts for my pitchers, so I targeted starting pitchers with RP eligibility.  I drafted Medlen (as my second pitcher, after Kershaw), and got lucky with an week 1 or 2 add of Iwakuma.  I rode Iwakuma and Medlen all season long as my RPs.  After I established my RP advantage, I focused on two start pitchers.  I had a staff of Kershaw, Lester, and Peavy, but frequently was starting fringe guys with two starts.  I drafted hitter heavy in my draft, and had a couple huge free agent pickups very early in the season.

Free Agent Pick Ups:  I snagged Matt Carpenter in the first few weeks of the season, and I added Jean Segura when Jose Reyes went down. These guys turned out to be huge contributors to my team already rostering, Ortiz, Zimmerman, Bautista, Prado, Butler, Gordon.  I also took advantage of early season struggling player who were dropped by their managers.  Cespedes, and Ian Desmond.

Summary:  I was told that pitching wins these head to head leagues.  That may be true, but I still argued that I could find pitching, and that I didn’t have to draft it early.  I took Kershaw in the second round (I

Leave a Reply

