Austin Jackson

I have been seeing some generous rankings for Austin Jackson.  I am not sure I understand why, so lets take a look at the numbers.  In almost 2,000 plate appearances (3 years of full seasons) in the majors Jackson has; 296 runs, 30 HRs, 152 RBI, 61 SBs, and a .280 AVG.

I see a player who scores a lot of runs in a good offense, and won’t kill your batting average.  He supplies little power and does not even steal many bases.  This does not constitute a player that I would rank in the OF with the likes of, Craig, Cespedes, and even Choo.  I realize that he is only 26 and has more growth to do potentially, but he also was never a top 40 ranked prospect in Baseball America, so I question how high his ceiling really is.

One comment

  1. Fantasy Football Submission

    Agreed. He won’t be on any of my teams this year, at least based on his current draft position. A good all around player and well above average in runs scored, which is a pretty underrated stat in my opinion. Still doesn’t justify the draft spot in comparison to the other guys around him.

Leave a Reply

